About the Collection
The University of South Carolina Football Program Covers showcases the unique artwork created to support and promote Gamecock football. The collection contains program covers ranging from 1923 to present. Football first came to Carolina in 1892 when a team played against Furman on Christmas Eve in Charleston, however, the football team was not sanctioned by the University and had to support themselves financially. In 1906, the Board of Trustees banned the football team from competition, because of the rude chants that filled the air games. By 1907, the Board was so harrassed by fans, alumni, and students to reinstate the sport that they relented, and Carolina fans have enjoyed a strong football program ever since.
Carolyn Runyon, William Davis Melton Graduate Assistant, put together this collection of football program covers of University of South Carolina Records of the Athletic Department Collection. She is primarily responsible for scanning the images, creating the metadata, uploading the collection to the database, and creating the homepage. The work could also not have been done without the help of Kate Boyd, the Digital Collections librarian, Tony Branch, the systems administrator for the CONTENTdm database, and Elizabeth West, the University Archivist.
Creating the Digital Collection
This collection of football programs was scanned with a Hewlett Packard ScanJet 8200 at 300dpi for the TIFF archival master files. JPEGS were created at 144dpi. Carolyn used HP Director software to scan the covers. The JPEG images were loaded into CONTENTdm, with the metadata. The TIFFs will be maintained as the archival master files on a SAN server and backed-up to DVD and tape.
The metadata records follow the Western States Best Practices Dublin core format.